morning ritual + self-awareness

Recently, I’ve taken an interest in self-awareness. I noticed that frequently and in certain situations, I would lose control of myself, of my emotions, and end up taking it out on the people I love the most. I knew what I was doing, and I didn’t like it because I could see the effect it had not only on me, but on the people it was effecting. So, I decided to change for my own sake as well as those whose patience have surpassed any expectations.

I’ve always practiced yoga- scattered, but it’s always been something I’ve done. Only recently have I begun to do yoga every morning followed by a quick session of mediation. I’ve seen major differences in myself as have others, and it blows my mind how a little bit of self-awareness goes a long way. Along with yoga and mediation, I started up a personal growth journal where I record the duration of the practices as well as write down noticeable progress.

I never knew that I needed to read a self-help book, but I found myself indulging in a book lent to me by my boyfriend called, Breaking The Habit of Being Yourself: How to Lose Your Mind and Create a New One by Joe Dispenza. To my dismay, everything written on the pages of this book rings true to me, and probably to many more. It has allowed for me to realize that the actions I take, the way I think as well as the way I feel aren’t all that uncommon. I find that the inner workings of my mind have been wired to think the worst of things, and to believe there is no way out of them. This book has shown me a way to stop thinking in the manner that I do, for that way of thinking will allow my thoughts to become my reality– which is exactly what I don’t want.

There are many things in life that you can’t control like losing your wallet, however, there are many things about it that you can control, and so many people forget that. You have all the power to allow yourself to be happy. It might sound like mumbo-jumbo, but the moment you realize that, you will be unable to figure out why it took so long.

. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .

“If you can never stop thinking about your problems, then your mind and your life will merge together as ONE.”

“We first begin to feel the way we think, and then think the way we feel.”

“Your thoughts have consequences SO great, they create your reality.”

—- Breaking The Habit of Being Yourself: How to Lose Your Mind and Create a New One : Joe Dispenza.

 

Leave a Reply

