Here’s To 2016

As the year is winding down and coming to a close, I’ve found myself recollecting all the events this year had to offer. Looking back at where I was mentally in the beginning of the year, I can honestly say that I have made a 180.

I often see posts on every social media site of people poking fun of themselves for “another year going by that I haven’t accomplished anything.” Sure, the memes get a laugh out of me and everyone else, however, if that continues to be a cycle in life for you, then there needs to be change. Seeing people constantly lamenting over the fact they haven’t gotten anything out of the 365 days we have in a year is one of my biggest pet peeves. If you aren’t getting anything out of your days, and you want change, here’s a word of advice: Change is NOT going to come looking for you. YOU have to get out there and MAKE the change in your life. The more you complain about how lousy your life is, the more you will believe it and the less you will be willing to make a change. Plain and simple.

Maybe the way this year played out for me will offer you more insight than my candor:

This year started out with heartbreak… Heartbreak over someone who didn’t deserve my time. At the time, I didn’t know what to make of myself, but I knew I’ve never been one to let someone take a hold of my life and control me. So therefore, I channeled everything into bettering myself– physically and mentally. 2016 soon became all about bettering myself as a person, and so I did just that. I made a habit of going to the gym at least twice a week, I threw myself into my studies, and continued to develop my relationship with Jesus Christ. I took away all the negativity and anything that didn’t bring me happiness straight out of my life. Overall, I began to see a change within myself– I was happier. All I can say is, if you don’t take care of yourself, then I hate to break it to you, but nobody will.

This year, I found that focusing on yourself is the best thing you can do in order to achieve greatness within your life… and to my dismay, little did I know that just five months after the beginning of this year that started out with heart break that would I find someone who would put the pieces back together, sweep me off my feet, and be a source of motivation, inspiration and undeniable love.

Long story short– you NEVER know what is going to take place in our 365 days each year. Make the most of it.

“Control what you can, confront what you can’t, and always remember how lucky you are to have yourself.” – The Maine, (Un)Lost, American Candy

 

Leave a Reply

